25th Anniversary Recognition Dinner Award Winners

Posted |

Big congratulations to all our award winners and we’re looking forward to recognizing new partners for the wonderful work they do in the future.

  • Community Advocate Award – John Lemen, for his work in the Florence neighborhood on the Reign Lounge
  • Going the Distance Award – Sean Haley, PhD, MPH and Cassie Tourre, for their work creating the national Alcohol Action Network
  • LaVon Crosby Public Policy Award – Senator Robert Hilkemann, for his consistent support of policies that would reduce alcohol-related harms across Nebraska
  • Law Enforcement Agency Award – Omaha Police Department, for its efforts to restart alcohol compliance check operations during the COVID-19 pandemic
  • Law Enforcement Officer Award – Chief Bryan Waugh of the Kearney Police Department, for his willingness to collaborate with the organization to ensure officers are trained on how to properly enforce our state's alcohol laws
  • Media Award of Excellence – Jim Timm, for his advice in helping the organization shape its message
  • Marty Conboy Public Advocate Award – Ryan Wiesen of the City of Omaha, for his efforts to keep citizens informed during the liquor licensing process
  • Leon Dappen Award of High Distinction – Diane Riibe, for her life's work of preventing alcohol-related harms in Nebraska and across the country
  • Special Recognition Awards –
    • Robert Brewer, MD, MSPH
    • Beatha Kliewer
    • Nebraska Highway Safety Office
    • Jennifer Pollock
    • Adi Pour, PhD
    • Tom Safranek, MD
    • Laurie Scott
    • Nigel Wrangham